CNI LD4L Presentation

So I did my best to follow along with the hour-long LD4L presentation delivered for the Coalition for Networked Information last December that Dr. MacCall emphasized to us at the end of Wednesday’s class. Overall I think it helped me get a better grip on some of the advancements and challenges of linked data collaborations between libraries, though I have to admit that a lot of this is Greek to me. LD4L (Linked Data for Libraries) is a collaboration between Harvard, Cornell, and Stanford and I think what’s most impressive for me is the staggering amount of resources they are trying to capture and account for through this project – 13 million for Harvard and 8 million a piece for the other two. Some of the examples they gave for how this linked open data initiative will enhance relevance ranking, research, and discovery really resonated with me. In one they discussed two faculty from different universities who have a shared relationship in that they are both affiliated with the same outside organization. Through their linked data vision though, users will not just be able to see this mutual affiliation but also will be referred to each other’s articles when searching for articles by one or the other. Now imagine how quickly this could be expanded on. One of the biggest challenges that stuck with me is this idea that no one is right, no one is wrong, and it’s not quite clear what the objectives exactly are all of the time. I liked how they summed up the problem of entity reconciliation with the question when do we mean “Same As” vs. “See Also”? (i.e Stephen King and Richard Bachmann or the example they used Mark Twain and Samuel Clemens.) The answer is that a lot of the time we still don’t really know. After watching the video I cannot now say that I am an expert in this stuff, but it’s a really interesting topic and it seems like there are some pretty brilliant minds coming together to work these issues out.

Leave a Reply

