My informational future

A few of the primary readings for this week (Dempsey, Torkington) were concerned with the future of libraries and their fate within an increasingly networked society. While the arguments are tough to refute, there is something about the timing and urgency of these types of pieces that never cease to irk me. Like while I’m reading I will inevitably begin to picture a room full of out-of-touch business men who are desperately grasping for ways to maintain their product and label’s coolness with the kids. Nevertheless, these readings got me thinking about my own “informational future” and existence within a networked world. I realize now that it’s kind of difficult for me to try to classify my online presence. I’d say that I occupy a weird border zone between generation x and gen y. I participate in social media but not enthusiastically. I’m a bit older than Mark Zuckerberg so I didn’t have a Facebook account until I was a good while out of college. I definitely recognize the value in being connected to FB. For me it’s great being able to see pictures of my brother and his family from where they live in Australia and I, like many people, get a fair amount of my news there. A lot of it depresses me though. Mainly because at the end of the day I see it as just a big time suck and brain drain (not to mention creepy and evil). I know though that there is no turning back and opting out isn’t really a very practical or wise option – consider the requirements for this course as an example. Alas here I am and I just joined Twitter and for the first time in my life have started a blog (this one). While It’s interesting to think about the impact libraries will (or won’t) have moving forward I think it’s equally imperative for us all to pause and reflect on our own online presence and responsibilities as we enter the future.

3 thoughts on “My informational future

  1. You make some interesting points here about online presence and responsibilities. We were doing a future trends exercise at work last week and we had a discussion around the concepts of trust, digital identities, curated digital lives, and a new form of digital literacy that navigates the border where the analog and the digital meet.

    Like

    • I agree with Nikki! I would add that to be effectively critical of the “informational future”, one much first gather some experience with it*, so I hope one outcome of the course will be the gaining of that experience. Having a plan, such as a PLN, focuses that attention at least when it comes to a professional presence in social networks.

      *without some experience, you’re someone yelling “get off my lawn” to the kids on SM 🙂

      Like

  2. Pingback: Metadata and the NSA | LS 566 Metadata Course Blog

Leave a Reply

